Webmaster Forums - Website and SEO Help

Microsys Products and Webmaster Tools => A1 Sitemap Generator => Topic started by: Amtil on June 10, 2013, 11:47:12 PM

Title: News XML sitemap
Post by: Amtil on June 10, 2013, 11:47:12 PM
Hi All,

I have just downloaded A1 Sitemap Generator and have completed a scan.  The xml sitemap generator works great.  I am trying to also create a news.xml, but I am having problems.  I have added our news name and currently only get a blank result like below when I generate a google news sitemap:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<urlset xmlns="http://www.sitemaps.org/schemas/sitemap/0.9" xmlns:n="http://www.google.com/schemas/sitemap-news/0.9">
</urlset>
I have not changed any other options except applying the quick preset for google news. I realise filter outputs could help, but I only get a blank result at the moment anyway. 
Any suggestions where I am going wrong?

Thanks
Title: Re: News XML sitemap
Post by: Webhelpforums on June 11, 2013, 04:50:13 AM
Hi,

Be sure top read the help for news sitemaps:
http://www.microsystools.com/products/sitemap-generator/help/google-news-xml-sitemaps/ (http://www.microsystools.com/products/sitemap-generator/help/google-news-xml-sitemaps/)

In particular the section:
Google News Sitemap Requirements

Should I guess: Either you do not have ]last modified defined *or* the values are too old.
Title: Re: News XML sitemap
Post by: Amtil on June 11, 2013, 11:57:47 PM
thankyou, I manually added a modified date and it is working now.

I do have 1 other questions, what option will just scan for new pages?  Recrawl obviously scans the whole site again (we noticed a large increase in our site stats!!!!).  Do I leave the scan options blank or will A1 sitemap generator rescan the whole site everytime?

Thanks


Title: Re: News XML sitemap
Post by: Webhelpforums on June 12, 2013, 12:35:47 PM
Generally speaking, A1 Sitemap Generator can't know for sure which pages are updated (or where new pages are located) without scanning the entire website.

An alternative would be to split the website scan into multiple projects using "output filters" and "analysis filters". (For instance if only a specific section of your website contains news related content, you could create a project that only scans for news related content. For this you could also use the command line interface and have it scheduled to run daily each morning or something like that.)